Birthday Bags

20110410-050841.jpg

Recently a customer contacted me. I had custom made a bunch of make-up rolls for her and she thought of me when it came time to make her daughter’s birthday special. How exciting for me!

The idea for the birthday party was for the girls to go on a scavenger hunt. They would receive clues that would lead them to little prizes. They would be going in and out of local businesses and would need something to tote their goodies in.

20110410-050950.jpg

So she came to me with the idea of drawstring backpacks. Simple and perfect.

I wasn’t sure I could find enough yardage for the drawstrings or the hardware under the tight deadline but I did.

20110410-050908.jpg

I gave her a few choices of fabric groups and she choose Patty Young’s Sanctuary. I had bought at least one yard of every print in the cool colorway with deluded dreams of making myself a king size quilt. I’m secretly glad to pass along the fabrics in another way so i don’t have to feel so bad about not making that quilt.

Sanctuary is shirting fabric, so it’s a little lighter than a quilting cotton and too light for the drawstring bags so I lined each bag with white quilting cotton to give it some heft.

I think they turned out great and I hear they were a hit with the birthday girl!

Leave a Reply

