Mug Rug

All summer long my beverages have been sweating all over my sewing table. I knew I wanted to make myself a mug rug but just never felt inspired to actually do it. Lately Amanda (Mrs. McPorkchop) had been inspiring me, posting her mug rug photos on twitter. (You know how much I love twitter!) Her mug rugs are so pretty & she’s been making an effort to use up some of her scraps, something I should concentrate on as well.

Inspired by Amanda I sewed up my own scrappy mug rug late one night. I obviously didn’t have enough lights on because I have some batting showing through. Can you spot it? I’ll have to applique something to cover up the hole.

I also practiced machine stitched binding. I am not good at that! I kept the white thread because I didn’t feel like changing it. It really sticks out but that’s okay.

I am so happy to have this thing. It’s so pretty & keeps my table from having puddles on it. Why the heck did I wait so long to make myself a mug rug?! (Mug rugs are way better than coasters.)


I also spent a good chunk of time going through my fabric stash & cutting little squares for my hexagons. Yup, I’m still working on those. I now have a nice pile of squares to be sewn up.

I also pulled a few fabrics for a destashing in my shop eventually. It’s really hard for me to let go of fabrics. I always think this might be the perfect fabric for a project in the future. Yeah right, Jaclyn. Let it go, you don’t want to end up on Hoarders!

2 thoughts on “Mug Rug

  1. I love your mug rug! I have to admit that i was not sure what you meant but it at first. As for the “hole”
    i do not see one!!! Love the idea,might have to make a couple for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

