Sunday Stash #10

Yesterday I went to my first New England Modern Quilt Guild meeting and I had a blast. It is really fun to hang out with other like-minded people and everyone was so sweet.

Shelly did a couple of demonstrations. We learned a great technique for circle piecing, 6 minute circles using a tutorial from HGTV. After watching Shelly make such pretty circles so easily I think I may be tempted to try some myself! After circles Shelly demonstrated hexagon piecing using jaybird quilts tutorials.

Shelly also brought door prizes & I won a queen size wool batting! Woohoo!! I’m excited to try wool batting, also a bit frightened.

After show & tell and Shelly’s demonstrations we headed over to Fabric Corner for some shopping. Mark’s store was awesome, so many things to tempt me with! If only I had a shop like this near me, I could save a bunch of cash on shipping! Wanna see what I came home with?

From left to right:

  • White shirting fabric from Robert Kaufman. I plan on making BF a dress shirt at some point, he’s a weird size so it’s hard to find of the shelf stuff for him.
  • Hello! from Alexander Henry. I love this print!
  • Hop Dot from Nicey Jane by Heather Bailey for Free Spirit. I’m really into this color, it’s a really weird yellow.
  • Zebe from Alexander Henry. This fabric feels so nice, it’s very similar to a lawn, lovely.  It would make a really great dress, but that’s not going to happen.
  • Mingle from Monaluna for Robert Kaufman. For my orange collection I’m working on.
  • Brick Path from Woodland Delight by Paula Prass for Michael Miller. One of the ladies at the meeting had a bag made from this fabric, I’m easily influenced.
  • Frogs on lily pads from Far, Far Away by Heather Ross. *Squeal* They also had blue unicorns. Score!
  • Baby Bouquet from Little Folks by Anna Maria Horner. At least three of us picked up some of this beautiful voile, I took the end of the bolt. It’s enough for a dress – which probably won’t happen.

It’s not my fault, they were having a sale!

Can’t wait for the next meeting!! I better get quilting, I’ll need something for show & tell.

One thought on “Sunday Stash #10

Leave a Reply

