My Perfect Chicken Salad

Monday night I was home alone for dinner so I made what I wanted instead of tons of meat and potatoes and veggies and bread and…..

I made chicken salad and a sort of fruit salad to go along side, they were both divine! When I decided to make chicken salad I knew I wanted to share my recipe with you. So I knew I would take photos of that. What I didn’t know was that the summer salad would be just as delicious and I would also want to share that recipe with you. Alas, I have no photos of the summer salad but it’s so easy, trust me!

MY Perfect Chicken Salad – because it’s just the way I like it.

(If you are a vegetarian or just want to try something a little different check out the comment section of this post. Britt tells us how to make this recipe with out meat!)

Grab a handful or even two of tarragon. I grow this stuff solely for this recipe. Chop like crazy.

Chop a handful or two of dried cranberries. If they are too sticky you can spray your knife with a little cooking spray.

Pretty.

Squirt, dollop a bunch of mayo into the bowl.

Salt & Pepper

Chicken. Most of the time I just boil about four chicken breasts in salted water. (This stuff is good, I make a big batch.) I boil the chicken because I don’t like to have any sort of crust-like consistency in my chicken salad. It’s also way faster than baking. The best chicken to use by far however, is left over rotisserie chicken. Oh. My. The rotisserie chicken just has a great depth of flavor & really makes this chicken salad phenomenal. We don’t have rotisserie chicken around here often so boiled breast it is.

Chop your chicken to bits.

I like to have every flavor in every bite so I chop all of my ingredients super small.

Mix everything together.

I like to chill it for a little bit in the fridge. It tastes so nice a little cold.

Then throw it on some yummy bread, or my favorite, wheat crackers. Yummmm

Summer Salad

Slice 1/2 red onion

Cube 1 small cantaloupe

Cut/hull 1 package strawberries

3 or so big hand-fulls of baby spinach

Toss!

Sprinkle salt & pepper

Serve with a balsamic vinaigrette

Ta Da! A perfect summer supper. YUM.

(The light in the dining room is obviously far better than in my sewing room huh??!)

3 thoughts on “My Perfect Chicken Salad

  1. That looks & sounds good! I like it so much when I have this type of evening meal…
    By the way, thanks for answering my previous comment personally: that was really sweet!
    Have a lovely day!

  2. This looks wonderful! I’ll have to make a vegetarian version soon… if only you could make dinner with a sewing machine–maybe then I’d be a better cook! I never heard of the cooking-spray-on-the-knife trick, how ingenious!

  3. I made both the chicken salad and the salad salad last week and now have a new favorite meal! To make the chicken salad vegetarian, I just cooked one package of Quorn brand chick’n cutlets with a little oil. I think it yielded less than 4 chicken breasts, so I adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. I still used a ton of tarragon–would you believe I’ve never had fresh tarragon? Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!

Leave a Reply

