Bloggers Quilt Festival Spring 2010

I know, I’m totally late to the party! I have known BQF was coming but I didn’t have a quilt to show. I was planning on having my Dizzy Geese quilt finished but I ran out of some bits & that hasn’t happened. So on the evening of May 20th (yeah, the day before BQF started) I decided instead of finishing one of the SIX WIP/UFO’s I currently have going, I needed to start a new quilt just for this occasion. Well, it’s finally finished and I still have a couple of days to spare before BQF closes. Nice.

Once I had made the decision to start something new my eyes darted around my sewing room desperately seeking inspiration, landing first on my stash.

Oh, these would look great together…

Way too many fabrics, I’m thinking mini quilt here…

Ahh, yes. Perfect.

Now a design…let’s check this book out, it may have something cool…

I don’t knit really, so this just lives on the shelf.

This would be really good for fussy cutting those super cute Munki Munki vans. Perfect.

Then I got to piecing and this mini quilt turned into a baby quilt. Oops.

Yeah, behind it are 2 of my WIP/UFO’s. I’m just layering it all on the design board. haha

I played around with how many van blocks I would use and edited the layout a couple of times. I liked the negative space on the bottom left corner & thought it needed a van in the middle.

Then the fun part, quilting. I started with this…

Inspired by this pillow.

I didn’t want to stipple the rest & I couldn’t find an all-over pattern that I liked. So I got crazy…

Really crazy….

And couldn’t stop…

As wonky and not perfect as the quilting is, I love it! I think it is super cute.

I’m in love with this little quilt!!

Here’s the back…

And my cute little spoonflower label!

Some stats for you

  • Measures 32.5″ x 41″
  • Solids: Kona Grass, Charcoal, Med Gray
  • Munki Munki vans
  • Stripe: Prints Charming Follow Your Imagination from Free Spirit

You can check out my next post here for more photos of the quilting.

Make sure you tell Amy I said hello & thank her for putting on such a great event!! Don’t forget to check out all of the other great quilts in the Bloggers Quilt Festival!

11 thoughts on “Bloggers Quilt Festival Spring 2010

  1. what a great quilt. love the story, love the layout. those van fabrics are so wonderful. you quilted it in such a fun way. thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

