Happy Birthday Morgan!

BF’s niece Morgan, recently turned four! I asked my twitter friends for gift idea help. I have no idea what is appropriate for a four year old.

Benita suggested felt food. What a fun idea! She sent me a fantastic link that had tons of felt food tutorials. (You must check out Benita’s site! She has a bazillion free quilt block patterns and a lot of other great resources. Check her out!)

I don’t have a felting needle thing-a-ma-bob so I had to sew all of the food by hand. I had to vastly cut down on the different items I was planning on making because the sewing took a bit longer than I expected. I’m sure if I had proper felting equipment things would have progressed much faster.

I made ravioli,

farfalle with spinach,

and cupcakes! (I couldn’t figure out the frosting, it just looked weird, so I left that out.)

There were so many others I wanted to try out but my felt supply/colors is very limited.

The food while fun, didn’t look substantial enough so I decided Morgan would surely need a chef’s hat and apron to wear while cooking. These I didn’t use a tutorial for these, I just winged it.

I figured four year olds probably won’t be tying bows behind their necks so I used elastic for a quick slip-over-the-head-no-help-from-mom application. Four year olds probably would have a hard time tying around the waist as well. So I fashioned a one strap around the back velcro in the front. I think it works well.

The chef’s hat was super easy. One long rectangle connected to a big circle, ta-dah chef hat! I used velcro for the hat as well, so it can be adjusted to fit.

Looks like Morgan’s little brother Jimmy loves them too!

Too cute!

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Morgan!

  1. After checking out a handful of the blog
    articles on your blog, I seriously appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
    I book-marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will
    be checking back soon. Please check out my web site too and let me know
    how you feel.

Leave a Reply

