A Year in Review, 2009

Well, it seems 2009 was quite the year for most of us.  I think the decline in the world economy has really helped us to put our lives back in focus and allowed us to realize what we are capable of as well as what’s really important in our lives.

While this year was wrought with hard decisions and disappointments it was also a year of unexpected joys and accomplishments.


In 2009 I…

::moved out of my beautiful apartment with wonderful neighbors::  ::moved back in with my parents in the middle of nowhere::

::quit my dependable, secure job::  ::choose not to go back to work and instead start this little venture, Urban Crunch::

::experimented more::  ::smiled more::

::stressed less::

::felt accomplished::  ::felt proud::  ::felt overwhelmed::  ::felt poor::  ::felt rich::

::started a blog!:: ::made blog-y friends::  ::opened an Etsy shop::  ::sold my goods in a local shop::

::learned::  ::taught::

::spent more time with family::  ::tried to stay more connected with friends, it’s hard!::

::sold handmade goodies to people I don’t know::  ::sold handmade goodies to people I know::

::let go of the obligation to buy gifts::  ::became more cognizant of my spending::

::loved::  ::lost::  ::laughed::  ::cried::

I am grateful to all of you who have stopped by my blog, read, commented, and sent words of encouragement.  It’s nice to know I’m not just talking to myself here & the kind words are just what I need when I’m feeling self-critical and unsure.

I am also grateful to everyone who has stopped by my shop and purchased a little handmade goodie.  It’s always so exciting and makes my heart jump for joy each time.  Not to mention, it helps pay the bills!

As this year comes to a close I am filled with contentment.  A year that could have been a horribly depressing time in my life has actually become a time of pride, accomplishment, joy and happiness despite the difficult times.

I am generally not a glowing optimist but somewhere between now and then it feels like I’ve changed.  I am sure I will look back fondly on these past 365 days, even with the loss of my grandmother I am not regretful.  I am glad to have had the times I’ve had good and bad.  I have cried my tears but I don’t look back with sorrow, only thankfulness.

I am optimistically looking forward 2010 and all of the possibilities the coming year, and decade has to offer.  I am excited to see what unfolds, what challenges I will face, what joys will fill my days.  I hope you will continue to experience those things with me through this space.

Wishing you an optimistic, happy, healthy, wealthy New Year!!

Happy New Year!!

4 thoughts on “A Year in Review, 2009

  1. Jackie I love your year in review! I think you are so adventureous with what you are doing and I give youo a lot of credit! You know I am always on your side! If you ever need encouragement give me a call!

  2. Happy 2010! Glad I was able to stay awake in the new year for 30 minutes 🙂 I can’t wait to see what you do in 2010! xo

Leave a Reply

