Argyle Quilt

Well, the argyle quilt is done and on it’s way to the crinkle-o-matic.

Argyle Quilt

I’m not sure about this one.  I think the real problem lies in my fabric choices.  It’s not quite argyle looking.  I don’t hate the quilt but it just doesn’t look like I intended it to look.  If you follow me on Twitter you might know, I finally figured out why this quilt is a little off.  I think it’s my fabric placement.

DSCF2427

Next time I try this pattern I think I will have the darker/brighter fabric crisscrossed by the smaller lighter sashing and the lighter by the dark sashing.  I think that might give the squares more ‘pop’ and help to define the argyle a bit more.

I didn’t want to stipple this quilt for two reasons.

1. I want to try to get away from stippling everything and move toward some free-motion quilting with a little more design and that takes the piecing into consideration more.

2.  I wanted to try to emphasize argyle in this quilt since the layout fell a little short.

I searched all over the blogosphere for free-motion inspiration but nothing spoke to me for this one.  I resorted to…stitch in the ditch…oh the horror.

Arglye Quilt - Back

The back is a Winnie the Pooh print that I had in my stash, leftovers from a baby quilt I made a few years ago.  Winnie the Pooh on baby quilts have a special place in my heart because my first quilt (made by my Grandma) had Winnie the Pooh fabric.

This is why I try out my ideas on my friends first, sometimes they aren’t quite right. This one’s going to yet another friend of mine who is having a baby boy.  I’m thinking I need to make something else for her.  While a quilt alone is wonderful as a gift I think babies require extra presents!  I have been toying around with a softie, a regular old tote, or a diaper bag.  I’m thinking a little bib too.  I better get going, the shower is on Saturday!

Leave a Reply

