Bloggers Quilt Festival

Today while searching Twitter for all things Quilt Market I found Park City Girl’s Bloggers’ Quilt Festival.  An awesome, super fun idea. — I’m in!

Instead of writing a new post I decided to re-work one of my first posts because that quilt has the most story behind it.  So here it is…

NY Baby

I am excited about this quilt because it’s going to a very special couple for their baby boy.  I’ve made it for my very dear friends & former New York neighbors, Nick & Rebecca.  They are exceptionally special people and great friends who have been through a lot to get pregnant.  Imagine how thrilled I was to hear that they were finally going to have a baby!  After all they have been through it turns out they got pregnant while on vacation.  I think finally getting away & thoroughly enjoying themselves without the worries of life on their shoulders worked wonders.  Just goes to show, we all need to slow down & enjoy, forget about all of our worries for a little while and good things will happen.

NY Baby 7

When I found out Rebecca was pregnant I immediately knew I needed to make a quilt.  I have always had handmade quilts throughout my life.  I think it’s the only way to go.  All of my quilts hold such great memories for me.  My first quilt was my baby quilt.  My Grandma made it for me, it was one of the first quilts she made & I still have it.  Anyway, I started on the quilt before they knew if they were having a boy or girl.  In the meantime, I found out another good friend, Emily, was having a baby!  They come in bunches I think.  Emily and Brian decided they are going to be surprised and won’t be finding out the sex of their little bundle of cuteness.  Another baby quilt to make!

The quilt I started for Nick & Rebecca was taking forever because I was hand quilting it.  It’s still not done, but it’s now for Emily & Brian because it’s gender neutral.  Nick & Rebecca found out they are having a boy!  I am sure Nick is so excited to be getting a partner in crime to go fishing & hunting with.  Thrilled to know the sex, I dove right into the baby boy quilt.  I love knowing if it’s a girl or a boy, I find it so much easier to find fabrics I like than having to make sure the fabrics aren’t to girlie or to boyish.

I have some fabric in my stash that has scenes from NYC in it.  I had to incorporate that fabric in because I have so many great memories of living in NY next to these wonderful people.  Also, this baby is going to be a Coast Guard baby, he’ll be moving around a lot.  I thought it would be nice to incorporate his birthplace into the quilt.  In turn I had to name this quilt New York Baby.  Fitting I think.

NY Baby 12

This is my first stacked coin quilt and I love it.  It was so quick and fun to make.  I love that it incorporates so many different fabrics in it as well.

NY Baby 4

Okay, now it’s your turn.  Head over to Park City Girl’s blog and get in on the fun!

34 thoughts on “Bloggers Quilt Festival

  1. I really love your quilt! I haven’t tried a stacked coins style yet, but it is definitely one that will be coming in the near future.

    One of the quilts I’m showing in my Festival post is also a baby quilt – isn’t it wonderful to know that your quilt will be warming up a little baby and will probably be something they keep with them for their whole lives?

    • Kaye, thank you! I love making baby quilts, they are almost instant gratification! I’m sure they will keep them forever too, I still have the one my Grandmother made for me.

      I have a quick & easy stacked coin tutorial on here you should check it out. I love them because you can use so many different fabrics, they are so easy but look great!

  2. Hi neighbor! I LOVE your quilt and the strip across the back. I’ve never done that before but my daughter in law made me a quilt this summer for my birthday and did the same thing. Great idea! It’s nice to know we are neighbors. We’ll have to get together sometime. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog today!!!

  3. This is an incredible quilt. What a fantastic gift for your friends! I just love the masculine feel of the fabrics you chose. You’ve inspired me to try my hand at a coin quilt!

  4. Love the colors and the dark sashing! I have been wanting to make one of these for a while, even started one somewhere! Will have to go dig it out! Thanks for your nice comments about my quilt, I love your too! : )

Leave a Reply

