A Finish and a Sandwich

For my finish last week: NY Baby stroller quilt.

Mini New York Baby

I had a few coins left over from this quilt, so I decided to whip up a stroller blankie sized quilt in the same theme.  This one has a white background and the backing is the NYC fabric.  It’s quite cute.  This is the first quilt I have made this small and I think I like it.  They are so fast to get done, nearly instant gratification, I like that.  It’s for sale in my Etsy shop!!  I received some great advice from a fellow Etsian and added straps to this quilt so Mom can secure it to the stroller so the little guy can’t kick it off.  Great idea!

Mini New York Baby

Sandwich of the week: Wonky Log Cabin

Wonky Log Cabin

This is a gift for my friends who are getting married in September.  I took inspiration from a throw on their registry and the general color scheme of their registry choices.  I think this should go well with what they’ve already chosen for their home.  I have to say though, wonky log cabins and I are not friends.  I do like how each one is different and how they look when they are finished, it’s the piecing I can’t stand.  I am a girl who loves chain piecing.  The sew one side, iron, trim, sew next side, iron, trim, it just seems to take forever.  I would prefer to sew a bunch, iron a bunch, trim not a bunch.

I’ve started to quilt this behemoth.  It takes quite a wrangling to get this one situated in my little tiny machine.  I am quilting vertical, very organic lines on this one.  To get the fabric flowing through the machine I think it would be immensely helpful to have a walking foot.  (Maybe it’s just an excuse to buy one.)  Right now with the foot I have, the top tends to get a sort of ripply.  I’m hoping that once it goes in the crinkle-o-matic no one will be able to tell.

2 thoughts on “A Finish and a Sandwich

Leave a Reply

